Structure and Board

The Beothuk Institute is a provincially incorporated body governed by a Constitution and By-Laws which were promulgated in February 2000.  Click here to download a copy of the By-Laws

As a charitable organization recognized by the Canada Revenue Agency, all donations made t0 the Beothuk Institute are tax deductible.

Board 2017-2018

Executive Chair – Desmond Canning
Vice Chair – Pete Barrett
Secretary – Kellie Kerpan
Treasurer – Rita Higgins
Member At Large – Simon Dawson
Laurie McLean
Tom Kendell
Winston Sharpe

Volunteers and Supporters

The Beothuk Institute is strictly a volunteer organization which depends on its members and others interested in our overall mission. Here are some of the people either directly involved or who are in support of the work we do. (Please note, our photo gallery is a work in progress. We will continue to add to it as photographs become available).


Become a Member

Become involved in the Beothuk Institute!

Help support projects relevant to Beothuk research, archaeology and more.

Annual Membership Fee - $15.00 per person

Facebook Feed

This year’s NLAS lecture and AGM will take place on Monday, November 20th at UC-3018, The Landing, Smallwood University Centre, MUN St. John’s Campus. Doors will open at 6:45 for a 7pm start for the lecture followed our AGM meeting.
Our lecture this year is titled “Beyond the Trowel: New Approaches in Archaeological Methodology” and will feature MUN Archaeology Graduate students James Williamson, speaking on his experience in 3D modeling and drone photography, and Allan Wolfrum, speaking about geophysical survey work.
... See MoreSee Less

Beyond the Trowel: New Approaches in Archaeological Methodology

November 20, 2017, 7:00pm - November 20, 2017, 9:00pm

Mark your Calendars, the NLAS AGM for 2017 will be held on November 20, 7-9 pm on the MUN campus. Our theme will be Beyond the Trowel: New Approaches in Archaeological Methodology - FURTHER DETAILS ON...

View on Facebook